Why are old photos showing in the upload feature?

The upload feature displays all photos currently stored in your existing conversations. Archiving photos only hides them from this view for your convenience.

Like email messages, images you have sent continue to exist until both you and the recipient delete the conversation, or both accounts are deleted. Only then are they permanently removed from our servers.